Defection: Oyo Assembly Speaker removes opposition lawmakers from “juicy” positions

The Speaker of Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon. Olagunju Ojo has
reportedly reshuffled the House committees.

We learnt that the development saw members from the opposition parties
and loyalists of the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Musa Abdulwasiu removed as
chairmen of "juicy committees".

It was gathered that members of the opposition, especially those from
the Unity Forum, who are chairmen of committees often regarded as
"juicy committee" were removed and replaced with members from the
ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) loyal to the speaker.

One of the affected lawmakers, who had defected to the African
Democratic Congress (ADC), Honourable Bolaji Badmus (Akinyele II) was
removed ass Chairman of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters'
committee and replaced with Hon. Safiu Olalere (Ido). Badmus was,
however, given chairman, Solid Minerals.

Others include Hon. Afeez Adeleke (Iseyin/ Itesiwaju) who was replaced
with Hon. Solomon Akande (Ogbomoso South) as chairman of House
Committee on Education. Adeleke who has defected to the ADC was given
Justice Committee to chair.

Hon. Gbenga Oyekola (Atiba) was replaced with Hon. Joshua Oyebamiji as
Chairman of Security and Special Duties committee.

Another lawmaker, Hon. Muyideen Olagunju (Oyo East/Oyo West) who was
among those that accompanied former Governor of the state, Senator
Rasidi Ladoja to Abeokuta residence of former President Olusegun
Obasanjo to perfect their plans to move to the ADC was removed as
chairman, House Committee on Public Petition.

No comments

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed in comments are those of the comment writers alone and does not reflect or represent the views of TITOPE BLOG.

Powered by Blogger.